Friday, 10 January 2014


Representatives are currently  set to contest the governorship seat of
their states, Daily Trust has learnt.
They include deputy speaker,  Emeka Ihedioha (PDP, Imo), deputy
minority leader, Abdulrahman Kawu Sumaila (APC, Kano) and Rep Ali
Gusau (APC, Zamfara).
Others are Rep Emmanuel Jime (PDP, Benue), Rep Dakuku Peterside (APC,
Rivers), Rep Bethel Amadi (PDP, Imo) and Rep Opeyemi Bamidele (LP,
Initial reports indicated that the speaker, Aminu Tambuwal was
planning to replace Aliyu Magatakarda Wammako as Sokoto State governor
but may have altered the ambition to contest for the presidency in
Ihedioha's spokesman, Oke Epia when contacted, said though there have
been calls by different Imo groups for the deputy speaker to contest,
his principal will respond at the appropriate time.
A group recently called on the deputy speaker to take over as governor
of Imo state from Rochas Okorocha next year. Several media reports had
also linked him to be having that ambition. Ihedioha's body language
also suggests that.
Kawu Sumaila's ambition to govern Kano state has been an open secret
as he had already constituted over 800 committees across the 44 local
governments of the state to galvanize support for him.
He openly declared his intention to run as governor of Kano since last
year and is said to be lobbying APC leaders in the state to clinch the
party's ticket.
Rep Bamidele has already gone far with his campaign to become Ekiti
state governor. Only recently, he defected to the Labour Party after
he sensed that he might not get the ticket in APC to replace Kayode
Although Dakuku Peterside and Ali Gusau have not yet declared their
ambitions openly, sources told our reporter that they are certainly
going to test their popularity for the governorship seats in Rivers
and Zamfara states respectively.
Rep Bethel Amadi who is the President of the Pan-African Parliament
has also been linked with the ambition of becoming the number one
citizen in Imo state. It remains for him to reach a truce with
Ihedioha as they are both of the PDP.

No comments:

Post a Comment